Happy Halloween! And A Personal Challenge…

Since my race on Thanksgiving, (Grizzly Race Report) I have been taking a break from running. I find that after a big race when I don’t have another on the calendar I need a little time to decompress in order to want to run again. It is good timing right now because winter is setting in and I won’t be racing again until at least February.

Ever since I stopped skating a year and a half ago, I have struggled to do strength workouts. As a speed skater we spent a lot of time in the weight room and I just don’t have the desire to get back in there and lift. I have dabbled in strength classes (when I’m back home in Yellowknife) and done some stuff that I make up for myself, but when it comes down to it, I just don’t love doing it. As a result I have some residual weaknesses and imbalances likely left over from my time as a speed skater (turning ONLY left can take a tole on the body!) that nag at me.

SO in an attempt to balance myself out while challenging myself in a different way than running I decided to do a 30 day yoga challenge! My goal is to practice yoga every day for 30 days. I was inspired to do this by my friend Sarah who did one herself in the spring. She said it was one of the most mentally and physically challenging things she had ever done. While many yoga studios offer 30-60 day challenges, I decided to do mine on my own. The rule with ‘official’ challenges is that you have to practice everyday AT the yoga studio, but with my school schedule it’s just not possible. And since my university offers free yoga classes twice a week (conveniently on the days that I can’t make it to the studio) it seemed fair to be able to practice there as well.

I bought myself a 30 day promo pass to Yoga Santosha (if you’re in Calgary check them out! www.yogasantosha.ca), which is this amazing studio in Calgary. Their one month promo is the best I’ve found in the city, which for a student is a good thing! It’s only $39 for the whole month! Keith bought one too and has been coming with me quite a bit, and we meet Sarah there quite often as that’s where she goes (and where she did her challenge on the same promo).

Today is day 17!!! There is no question that it has been a huge challenge, not the least of which has been making time for classes despite a heavy midterm schedule. But I have improved my practice SO much already and am enjoying trying all of the different classes that they offer at Santosha. The teachers are so approachable and for the most part run really fun, relaxed classes (I’ll admit that on days that I’m tired it’s not always fun).

Once I start training again I’ll have to scale back, but I do want to keep going 2-3 times a week since I know that one of the best ways to prevent injuries is to stay strong. Luckily I’m really enjoying it so that shouldn’t be a problem!

On a completely different note since it’s October 31st I have to congratulate everyone who completed the 100 miles for October challenge this month! There will be a post on this coming soon, but in the meantime, you know who you are!

Happy Halloween! Hope everyone enjoys lots of yummy treats today!

My roommate Abby’s incredible pumpkin. Isn’t it a work of art?! She’s a pumpkin genius!

2 thoughts on “Happy Halloween! And A Personal Challenge…

  1. Good on ya, Jill! I need to get into something like that too. I was doing fine while I was hiking, but need to have a good winter regime. Fitting it into a busy schedule is my problem too. You’re an inspiration. 🙂 Auntie Barbara

  2. Pingback: 30 Days of Yoga Complete! | An Appetite for Running

Leave a comment