Simple and Deadly

Hola!

This semester I decided to take spanish by correspondence as a way to have enough credits to graduate in April. I’m not very far in, but so far I have been enjoying it. Until the other night that is.

I had my first oral exam, and I went into it thinking I was pretty prepared. After all, Abby is a spanish major and she had helped correct some of my work and listened to me while I practiced. Boy was I wrong! The tutor tore me apart and confused me by switching back and forth from spanish to french to english. It was one of the most stressful fifteen minutes of my life and we didn’t even finish the test! Enough about that though.

After the call I had about 20 minutes before I was scheduled to be on an i2P conference call. So I decided to use that time to piece my self esteem back together…and what better way to do that than to bake?!

I found a simple recipe on Keith’s iPad Epicurious app and went at it. It was SO simple. After my call when I walked out of our bedroom the smell hit me immediately: DROOL! To say this recipe is a keeper is a huge understatement! It is one of the easiest ‘cookie’ recipes I have ever made, and also, in my opinion, one of the absolute yummiest! (Just let me say that I have made a lot of cookies too!)

Perfect chocolate spreading courtesy of Keith!

Here is the recipe. I’ll tell you, they are so simple and so deadly and SO worth it!

Toffee Squares

Crust:

1 cup butter, at room temperature
1 cup firmly packed brown sugar
1 large egg yolk
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 cups all purpose flour

Topping:

1 1/2 cups milk chocolate chips or 7 to 8 ounces milk chocolate broken into pieces
1 cup chopped almonds, toasted (optional! I didn’t use them)

Preheat the oven to 350 fahrenheit. Line a 9×13 inch pan with parchment and spray it with non stick cooking oil (I accidentally didn’t line it which is fine, so long as you don’t want to take the squares out all in one piece).

In a large bowl combine butter and sugar and beat with an electric mixer (I used my Kitchenaid with the whisk attachment). Beat butter and sugar until smooth and fluffy (a couple of minutes) then add egg yolk, vanilla and salt and mix until combined. On low speed, gradually beat in the flour until mixed. The dough will be crumbly but don’t worry about it. Pat the dough evenly in the prepared pan. This will be a bit tough but just do your best.

Bake in the centre of the oven for about 20 minutes until pale golden on top.

We might have had a couple bites…just a couple.

Remove from the oven and scatter the chocolate evenly over the crust. Return the pan to the oven for one minute and then remove and using a knife, spread the chocolate evenly over the crust. (Then sprinkle the almonds if using).

Let cool completely in the pan on a wire rack. Using a sharp knife, cut into small squares, then remove from the pan with a small spatula (or fork if it’s going directly into your mouth, which it will!)

ENJOY! And get ready for a nice long dose of physical activity the next day if you are anything like Keith and I, who may or may not have had a few each!

If you are looking for a great cookie exchange cookie, this is IT! And a little piece of advice? It’s the best straight out of the warm pan while it’s still all melty and caramel, so go ahead, eat the whole pan!

All melty, delicious and ready to eat!

6 thoughts on “Simple and Deadly

  1. For the record i tried this and i have to admit they are nice!!!! They turned out pretty well; so much so, i left them out to cool while i popped out for milk and there was only one slice left when i got back….

Leave a Reply

