A cookie a day keeps the doctor away: part 1

After three days and seven batches of cookies/bars, ten pie crusts and a batch of muffins the baking extravaganza has ended. I can’t do all the recipes at once, so I’ll do a few at a time.

Lucky for me, second time was the charm on the Chocolate Thumbprint Cookies. I used the caramel icing from my Caramel Bar Cupcakes to fill some of them, and the caramel from those same cupcakes to fill others. Just click on the link to see the recipes for the fillings.

Chocolate Thumbprint Cookies 

1/4 cup butter (softened)
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar
2 tbsp corn syrup
1 large egg
1 tsp vanilla
1 1/2 cups flour
1/3 cup cocoa
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
Caramel sauce and or caramel icing

Preheat the oven to 375 celcius.

In the large bowl of an electric mixer, beat the butter, sugar and brown sugar until well blended. Beat in the corn syrup, egg and vanilla until smooth.

In a medium bowl or measuring cup, stir together the flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Add to the butter/sugar mixture and stir on low until you have a soft dough. I had to add about a tbsp of water to keep the dough together here, but only do it if you have to.

Roll the dough into small balls and gently press your thumb or finger into the cookie to make an indent. Bake on a greased cookie sheet for 8-10 minutes. Let the cookies cool for 2-3 minutes on the pan before removing them to a cooling rack. At this point, use a small spoon to re-form the indents (they will have likely risen a bit). Let cool completely.

Pipe a small amount of icing or caramel into the centre of the cookies to fill up the holes.

Full disclaimer...these are actually the burnt ones that I made first, but I guess I didn't take pictures of the good ones before I wrapped them up.

Full disclosure…these are actually the burnt ones that I made first, but I guess I didn’t take pictures of the good ones before I wrapped them up.

Leave a Reply

