An awesome long run and a very slow ski

Last Wednesday/Thursday Calgary got a huge dump of snow. Every year a few times a year the whole city gets hit with a few inches in a short period of time (and yes the drivers go nutso).

This time it seemed to snow for a full 24 hours and my estimation was about five or six inches in total! On Friday morning I set out for my long run of the week intending to head up to Nose Hill and trails, but was basically running in ankle deep snow all along the side walks. When I got to the bridge that takes me to the trails I started wading through snow that was over my knees before realizing that the trails were going to look about the same and there wasn’t much point in wading through the snow for 25 km (and also I had a class to get to!). Instead I continued along one of my favourite bike paths that was pretty much totally covered in snow, making the footing challenging but so much fun! It was definitely slow going, although not as bad as I would have thought! I was pretty pumped up by the end of it, whooping and laughing as I went, the dog walkers that were out towards the end of it must have thought I was crazy.

It was still pretty darn beautiful

It was still pretty darn beautiful

Friday afternoon we headed out to Canmore for a weekend of R & R after several weeks of non-stop socializing. We had an early night on Friday and were up and ready to head out for a long ski on Saturday morning. The plan had been to do between 20-25km on an old road (that is closed) that starts just below Lake Louise and goes out to the Great Divide which is also the Alberta/BC border. There are also a bunch of side trails that loop around off the sides of the ‘road’.

The snow report said that it had been groomed with a double track since the heavy snowfall so we looked forward to fast, groomed trail. Boy were we mistaken.

We managed to avoid breaking a sweat the whole time! Probably a combo of the cold and how freakin' slow we were going!

We managed to avoid breaking a sweat the whole time! Probably a combo of the cold and how freakin’ slow we were going!

There has been quite the cold snap in the last few days and Saturday was no different. It was probably about -20 (which I know, is nothing compared to the -41 that Yellowknife had this weekend!) but still was pretty cold for me, a soft ‘transplant’. Unfortunately there wasn’t much of a track either. So off we went and were blown away by just how slowly we went! There was absolutely NO glide! Luckily there were some tracks of people who had gone earlier in the day but even those didn’t make much of a difference as we putzed along. To break things up we went on the side trails on the way out and back and managed about 18 kms in 2.5 hours. It was pretty much like walking!

The sun just starting to go down

The sun just starting to go down

It was neat to get to the Great Divide though (I’ve only ever driven over it) and also to the BC border. It was also neat being on a road with a few old signs still hanging around. I guess that it was a chance to re-connect with my northern roots as when I was telling my mum about the experience she replied with “Welcome to my glide-less life”. HA!

Keith's frostiest beard ever! He was so proud ;)

Keith’s frostiest beard ever! He was so proud 😉

2 thoughts on “An awesome long run and a very slow ski

Leave a Reply

